Share this

Last Updated: November 17, 2018

Bovada   VISIT CASINO

Bovada Review

Bovada does not allow players from Ukraine

Bovada Review

Bovada does not allow players from Ukraine

Introduction

Why Bovada?

From 2005 to 2014 I had only one advertiser on the entire site, and I'm proud to say that advertiser is , whom I personally and exclusively endorsed because:

  • Safe and fun place to play: they won't take your money and run
  • Offer a large variety of gambling options: sports, poker, and casino games
  • One account for all games: You can play all three ways on the same account
  • Superior customer support and service: 24/7/365 telephone and e-mail support, you will get an answer right away, with highly competent and knowledgeable staff

My readers are my first priority, and I want you to have a good experience when you wager online. I'm so confident that you'll have a good experience with Bovada that if you have a problem getting paid and you can't resolve it with them on your own, I'll help to mediate the dispute.

Bovada is the rebranded Bodog, they are a top notch online casino destination for the US market of players. Setting a high level of service, they are a prodigy for gamblers in this region. Besides the Casino the popularity for Sports, Poker and Horses are also prominent divisions.

Our sister site Latest Casino Bonuses recently conducted an interview with a representative from Betting Partners, the parent company of Bovada, which can be read .

Casino Info

Jurisdiction No license
Min Deposit $10 (Bitcoin)/ $20 (Credit Cards)
Min Withdrawal $10 (Bitcoin)/ $100 (Check)
Cashout Time Pending time: 48 hours; Bitcoin: Approximately 15 minutes; Check: 10-15 business days
Cashout Limit Check: $3,000 (One withdrawal per seven days); Bitcoin: $9,500 (One withdrawal per three days)
Games 336
Mobile Android, iPhone, iPad, Other Mobile
Download available No

Bovada Screenshots

Software Providers

One of the highlighted features is the integration of Realtime Gaming, Rival, Makitone Gaming, Revolver Gaming and Visionary iGaming software. It should be noted that while many Bovada games look like Realtime Gaming, Bovada also owns the source code, which can be used to adjust the rules or create entirely new games. Install the software in a quick download process or employ Instant Play for direct access through your browser.

Bovada's Casino Games

Bovada offers over 100 casino games. Most of these you can play for free with no downloads (browser-based) and no registration required. These are great to practice your strategy or to just become familiar with the game.

Bovada is one of the few casinos that understands that the player needs to enjoy themselves while playing. In my opinion, the odds at Bovada aren't that bad. They offer generous odds so that you can play longer, which gives you a better chance of winning. Kudos to Bovada for not being afraid to give their players a good gamble! In my experience, many online casinos are too stingy when setting the odds on their games. They think they'll make more money this way, but I believe they are misguided because when players lose too quickly, they stop having fun, leave, and don't come back.

Here are some examples of the odds I've experienced at Bovada:

  • 160-160-160-9-6 Double Jackpot Poker, returning 99.63%
  • 35-8 All American, returning 99.60%
  • Full-Pay Jacks or Better, returning 99.54%
  • Six other video poker games returning over 99%
  • Single-zero roulette
  • Two blackjack variants with a house edge under 0.2%

Bovada's Online Poker

Bovada uses its own poker software which has been widely hailed as excellent. It has a great interface, slick graphics and is really easy to use. The best thing is, they have a weekly $100,000 poker tournament (yes, that's $100K EVERY WEEK). They are continuously working to improve the software and add new features, and here are some of what's currently available:

  • Fully customizable - you can have your own avatar, change table colors, card backs
  • Resizable - you can resize the tables (great if you are playing multiple games and want them all on one screen), view in full screen (high resolution), and detach chat and game details (stats, notes, profiles, tourney info)
  • Mac compatible software
  • Multiple language support - English, Spanish or Chinese
  • Rabbit Cam - allows you to see what the next card dealt would have been after a hand completes.
  • Play more games & tournaments - you can play up to 20 tournaments (that's 20 tables) simultaneously
  • In-Client Blackjack - great if a game is going slowly, you can play some blackjack while you wait using your poker account balance.

Visit Bovada Poker to download the software, or check out my page on Texas Hold 'em Poker.

Blackjack


Blackjack

Blacjack with Perfect Pairs

European Blackjack


Bovada Blackjack (Realtime Gaming)Expand

Game BJ Pays Soft 17 Double Re split aces Surr-ender Return Total Decks
Blackjack 1.5 Hit Any 2 No No 99.46% 6
Perfect Pairs Blackjack 1.5 Hit Any 2 No No 99.46% 6
Pontoon 2.0 Hit Any 2 Yes No 99.35% 2
Match Play 21 1.5 Hit Any 2 Yes Yes 99.27% 6
Face Up 21 1.0 Hit 9 to 11 No No 99.25% 6
Super 21 1.0 Hit Any 2 No Yes 98.94% 6


More information about Bovada's Realtime Gaming Blackjack

Video Poker


Jacks or Better

Sevens Wild

Aces & Eights

All American

Bonus Deuces

Bonus Poker

Deuces Wild

Double Bonus

Double Double Bonus

Double Double Jackpot

Double Jackpot

European Slot Poker

Pick 'em Poker

Joker Poker

Jacks or Better - 10 play

Jacks or Better — 52 play

Jacks or Better - 100 play

Loose Deuces

Mystery Bonus


Bovada Video Poker (Realtime Gaming)

Game Multi-Play Pay Table Return
Aces & Eights Yes 8-5-4-3-2-1 99.78%
Double Jackpot Yes 160-80-80-40-20-8-5-4-3-2-1 99.63%
All American Yes 35-8-8-8-3-1-1 99.60%
Jacks or Better Yes 9-6 99.54%
Bonus Deuces Wild Yes 9-4-4-3-1-1 99.45%
Double Bonus Yes 45-10-7-5-3-1-1 99.37%
Double Double Jackpot Yes 160-160-160-80-50-9-6-5-3-1-1 99.36%
Sevens Wild Yes 25-15-10-5-3-2-2-1 99.16%
Sevens Wild (multi-play) Yes 25-15-10-5-3-2-2-1 99.16%
Pick 'Em Poker Yes 239.8-100-18-15-11-5-3-2 99.11%
Loose Deuces (multi-play) Yes 25-15-5-4-3-2-2-1 99.07%
Loose Deuces Yes 25-15-5-4-3-2-2-1 99.07%
Bonus Deuces Wild (multi-play) Yes 8-4-4-3-1-1 99.06%
Double Jackpot (multi-play) Yes 140-70-70-35-20-8-5-4-3-2-1 98.99%
Double Double Bonus (multi-play) Yes 400-50-9-6 98.98%
Double Double Bonus Yes 400-50-9-6 98.98%
Double Double Jackpot (multi-play) Yes 150-150-150-80-50-9-6-5-3-1-1 98.95%
Deuces Wild Yes 25-15-9-4-4-3-2-1 98.91%
Deuces Wild (multi-play) Yes 25-15-9-4-4-3-2-1 98.91%
Aces & Eights (multi-play) Yes 7-5-4-3-2-1 98.63%
Double Bonus (multi-play) Yes 40-10-7-5-3-1-1 98.57%
Joker Poker Yes 150-80-50-20-6-5-3-2-1-1 98.51%
Joker Poker (multi-play) Yes 150-80-50-20-6-5-3-2-1-1 98.51%
Bonus Poker Deluxe Yes 50-80-8-6-4 98.49%
Bonus Poker Deluxe (multi-play) Yes 50-80-8-6-4 98.49%
All American (multi-play) Yes 30-8-8-8-3-1-1 98.49%
Jacks or Better (multi-play) Yes 8-5 97.29%

More information about Bovada's Realtime Gaming Video Poker

Other Games

Bovada is also home to 39 other games listed below:


Baccarat

Casino War

Caribbean Stud Poker

Red Dog

American Roulette

New American Roulette

European Roulette

French Roulette

Craps

Let 'Em Ride

Pai Gow Poker

Vegas Three Card Rummy

Sic Bo

Pontoon

Diamond Blackjack

Hot Dice

Lucky 8's

Roaring Twenties Bingo

Bonus Bingo

Caribbean Hold'em Poker

Face Up 21

Match Play 21

Super 21

Texas Hold 'Em Bonus Poker

Tri Card Poker

Baccarat

Casino Battle

Ride 'em Poker

Red Dog

Double-Zero Roulette

Single-Zero Roulette

Craps

Pai Gow Poker

Keno

Vegas Jackpot Keno

Cast for Cash

Sudoku

Baccarat - Card view

Baccarat - Dealer view

Roulette

Super 6 -- Card View

Super 6 -- Dealer View

Blackjack Early Payout

Super 6 -- Dealer View

Super 6 -- Card View

Responsible Gambling, Customer Support & Security

Bovada provides a page dedicated to covering the topic of responsible gaming, with the site offering methods as to how they combat underage gambling, while also offering ways to identify problem gambling and tips about how to gamble responsibly. The casino also allows you to self-exclude yourself should you feel the need to, which can be for a fixed period of time or indefinitely.

Customer support at Bovada is provided through both telephone and email 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. While telephone help is instant, the email function is pretty fast to get a response with too, and we have found Bovada’s staff to be among the most knowledgeable that we have come across.

In an effort to provide top-notch security, Bovada offers SSL encryption for financial and personal information being sent to and from the site, which scrambles your information and keeps it out of the hands of hackers.

Terms and Conditions, Banking.

Looking through the terms and conditions at Bovada, we don’t see anything that falls out of line from what you’d expect from a good betting site.

Banking at Bovada is a bit limited, but this is to be expected from a betting site that caters to the US market. Players can deposit through credit card and Bitcoin, both of which are handled instantly. Withdrawals are paid out via check, and players can get one free check sent each month. The processing time for checks is relatively quick, with an average of a few business days for delivery.

Depositing and Withdrawing when in the US

The rebranded Bodog, there was a time that Bovada Casino was the exclusive online casino affiliate of both this and the . Times have changed since then, and we now advertise a number of casinos, but Bovada will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Bovada is one of those casinos that is a very good casino in every way, but they pretty consistently fall just short of excellent in most regards. For one thing, Bovada does not offer an instant Live Chat, so it can sometimes be a pain to try to get ahold of someone. Fortunately, they do have a stellar record when it comes to timely payouts, so it’s very unlikely that you’ll have a problem with them.

Also unfortunately, Bovada has become somewhat aggressive in structuring terms to prevent anyone from advantage playing there. They were one of the first casinos to structure their deposit bonuses such that the playthrough requirements from a lost deposit + bonus would carry over to the following deposit if they had not been completed. Many casinos have followed suit since then, but Bovada was one of, if not the one, that started it.

Bovada has alo determined that they may suspend or terminate player accounts at anytime in their sole discretion. Of course, this pretty much only applies to people they deem to be playing in a not recreational fashion, or people who are using multiple accounts. Still, it does make one wonder whether or not it is wise to accept a bonus from them.

The first thing that we notice is that they have a minimum deposit of $20, with either cash or Bitcoin, but the player can only withdraw $20 if the currency used is Bitcoin. If the player would like to receive a cash withdrawal, then the player should expect to wait 48 hours while it is reviewed, and then 10-15 days to receive the check.

Additionally, customers who wish to withdraw in cash will have to improve their balance to at least $50, as that is the minimum withdrawal amount. On the one hand, it sucks that the minimum withdrawal is 2.5x the deposit, but it is somewhat understandable since they are using a check. Naturally, it is fair to complain about them only having two withdrawal methods.

Bovada does have some cashout limits, both in terms of duration and amount. The amounts are $3,000 and $9,500, for cash and Bitcoin, respectively. Cash withdrawals may be requested once every seven days and Bitcoin withdrawals may be requested once every five days.

  • High Rollers Grade: D
  • Low Rollers Grade: C

I’m going to grade this low for both because only being able to do Bitcoin or waiting for 10-15 days for a check is a pain. Players who have the good fortune, as low-rollers, to hit something pretty big are probably very excited to get their funds which may take over two weeks to arrive!

Beyond that, while 2.5x the amount of the minimum deposit for the minimum cash withdrawal is not bad, it’s certainly not great, either. They don’t mind taking your twenty bucks, but they do mind if you want their twenty bucks, provided you win that much. You need to win at least thirty bucks more than your deposit.

I hate to say it because Bovada is fantastic in many ways, but their terms positively suck for high rollers. The first major problem is that high rollers shouldn’t have to wait as much as two weeks for a check. Although, I suspect that Bovada probably gets that ball rolling a little faster for high rollers who make frequent deposits.

The biggest problem I have with the terms for high rollers is the maximum cashout of $3,000 with only one request being made every seven days. It’s not inconceivable that someone depositing $1,000 (or more) might end up hitting huge or running extremely well on a table game to a bankroll the tune of $20,000. That person can now only make one withdrawal request every seven days, each check takes 10-15 days to arrive, so you would have seven consecutive weeks of requests (assuming it is requested on the soonest possible day) and as many as nine weeks of waiting to get all of the money! Not to mention the 48 hours pending time Bovada gives itself on each withdrawal request!

Bitcoin is not quite as bad, but I really don’t understand why there should be a five day wait. If a player deposits a couple thousand dollars, or even a thousand, and runs up a 10K+ balance, it’s pretty clear that the purpose wasn’t money laundering. The purpose was to gamble, hope to win and then he was fortunate and did win. Besides that, one would think BTC valuation would be less volatile the closer one is to the time of the deposit.

Slots

With RTG widely famous for an array random jackpots combined with the BetSoft popularity of 3D graphics it sums up to a spectacular Slots platform.

A game and payout percentage has been generated by the Kahnawake Gaming Commission and is reported for the month of November and December 2013 only. December's RTP payout for all casino games is 97.77%.


Football Frenzy

High Fashion

Jumping Beans

Megasaur

Naughty or Nice Spring Break

Shark School

Aussie Rules

The Back Nine

Beach Bums

Dog Pound Dollars

Heroes' Realm

Japan o Rama

Money Magic

1,000,000 Reels BC

Psychedelic Sixties

Rock On

Spy Game

5 Reel Circus

All Aboard

Arabian Tales

Ares -- The Battle for Troy

As the Reels Turn

A Switch in Time

Aztec's Treasure

Day at the Derby

Loco 7s

Big Deal

Parrots of the Caribbean

Reign of Gnomes

Robin Hood

Wishes

Comp Point Program

For every real money $10 bet placed on games a Comp Point will be added to your account. Depending on your VIP ranking the point percentage ratio varies.

The Red Room is exclusive to loyal players. Benefits include invites to special events, expedited payouts, weekly deposit bonuses, covered deposit fees and more.

Bonuses

Bovada offers its players up to $3,750 in welcome bonuses (applies to play in the casino, sportsbook, or poker rooms).

Bonuses and Playthrough Requirements:

  • Casino: Get up to $3000 in Match Bonuses in the casino
  • Sportsbook: Get a 50% free bet up to $250 instantly on your initial deposit
  • Poker: 100% bonus up to $500. As you earn poker points in the first 60 days, the poker bonus is released as shown in the table below:

    Level Poker Points Bonus Issued Total Bonuses
    1 50 $10 $10
    2 250 $40 $50
    3 750 $100 $150
    4 1,500 $150 $300
    5 3,000 $300 $600
    6 5,000 $400 $1,000

Bonus Exceptions: While the bonus applies to pretty much everything at Bovada, there are a few casino games that don't count towards the playthrough requirements:

  • Slots Casino Match Bonus: Only play on Slot games counts towards meeting playthrough requirements for withdrawal.
  • Table Games Casino Match Bonus: Any play in Single and Double Deck Blackjack, Baccarat, Sic Bo, Craps, Roulette, and Blackjack in the poker software does not count towards meeting rollover requirements for withdrawal.

My first deposit experience: In August 2004 I deposited $5,000 and the bonus was added to my account immediately. Since then I cashed out some of it (I was paid quickly) and am still betting on sports with the rest.

Below are the bonuses available at Bovada and we have a very detailed analysis of Bovadas bonus terms and conditions here.

Sign Up

A 100% Sign Up bonus with a max bonus of $1000 and a wagering requirement of 25x on Slots.
Code: NEWWELCOME

Percentage play-through by game:

  • 20% for American Roulette and Other Roulette.
  • 10% for Classic Blackjack, Other Blackjack and Video Poker.
  • 5% for Poker Games.

Note:

The bonus code NEWWELCOME can be redeemed up to three (3) times per player. Craps does not count toward meeting rollover requirements for withdrawal. Game contribution: Pai Gow, TriCard Poker, Let 'Em Ride, Caribbean Poker(all) 20%, Video Poker (All types), Blackjack (unless stated otherwise), Classic Blackjack, Baccarat 10%. Single Deck, Classic Single Deck & Double Deck Blackjack, Roulette 5%. 

Sign Up

A 150% Sign Up bonus with a max bonus of $1500 and a wagering requirement of 25x on Slots.
Code: BVCBITCOIN150

Percentage play-through by game:

  • 20% for Other Roulette.
  • 10% for Classic Blackjack, Other Blackjack, Video Poker and Baccarat.
  • 5% for Poker Games.

Note: The bonus code BVCBITCOIN150 can be redeemed up to three (3) times per player, with a Bitcoin Deposit.  To acquire the maximum bonus amount, the player must redeem the bonus code BVCBITCOIN150 and make a subsequent bitcoin deposit of $1,000 or more, three times, with a Bitcoin Deposit. Game contribution: Pai Gow, TriCard Poker, Let 'Em Ride, Caribbean Poker(all) 20%, Video Poker (All types), Blackjack (unless stated otherwise), Classic Blackjack, Baccarat 10%. Single Deck, Classic Single Deck & Double Deck Blackjack, Roulette 5%. 

License Information

Bovada is licensed to conduct gaming operations through the jurisdictions of No license.

Countries Welcomed

Bovada accepts players from the following countries: Aland Islands, Brazil, Christmas Island, Cocos (keeling) Islands, Falkland Islands (malvinas), Mexico, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Svalbard And Jan Mayen, United States, United States Minor Outlying Islands and Western Sahara.

Other Products

Bovada also offer a Mobile Casino, Sports, Poker and Horses products.

Check the terms. Before you play at Bovada or any other online casino, please carefully read the terms and conditions of the bonus offers as printed at their website. I make no promises that the terms I list above are current accurate. If you find my summary is incorrect, please let me know.

Payout verification. You should know that if you win money at an online casino and make a withdrawal you may be asked to supply verification of your identity. This usually constitutes a photocopy or scan of picture identification (usually a state ID or driver's license) and a utility bill or bank statement. The reason for this is some players have abused promotions by playing them multiple times under false names. This is a reasonable request on the part of the casino. If you're not willing to supply the documents, then you shouldn't wager online.

Want to learn more about Bovada? Check out these facts, articles and some fun pictures:

Bodog North America changes name to Bovada — In December 2011, Bodog rebranded to become known as Bovada in North America. Still the same staff, games and servers, just a new name.

  • — CEO of Morris Mohawk Gaming, which runs the Bovada operation in North America.

Player Issues

Bovada is a respected casino particularly for the US player. Timely payouts and prompt customer support have been reported.

Reasons the Wizard likes Bovada

Reason #1 why the Wizard likes Bovada: Excellent customer support

The thing that separates Bovada from the rest is its customer support. Many other online gaming companies outsource their support. It can be difficult getting a response from them, and if you do it is often slow and handled by somebody with little understanding of gambling or even of English. But Bovada's support is handled by Bovada, and their support staff is actually knowledgeable and helpful.

I'm so confident that you'll have a good experience with Bovada that if you have a problem getting paid and you can't resolve it with them on your own, I'll talk to them myself. I personally have known the Bovada management for about three years and always found them to be professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. I have also personally visited one of their call centers so I could see first-hand how they handle customer issues. (More on my mediation service.)

If you have a problem with any other casino besides Bovada, I can't help you. I get complaints from players of other online casinos every day who have difficulty getting paid. However that isn't my job nor my problem. If you play at Bovada after clicking through my site I'll stand behind you 100%. Any place else and you're on your own.

Reason #2 why the Wizard likes Bovada: No-hassle practice games

Most online casinos spend more effort trying to separate you from your money than they do trying to give you a good experience. They have all kinds of popup windows, they usually make you download their software, and if they do offer play-in-browser games then you have to register an account before you can play. And if you register they start sending you emails trying to get you to deposit real money.

But Bovada is different. They have no popup windows at all, and their practice games play right in your browser, with no download, and no registration required. You don't even have to give up your email address. It couldn't be simpler: just one click and you're playing the game.

I wish all online casinos showed this much respect for their players. Other casinos practically ask for your first born child to play for free. Meanwhile Bovada is patient and does not twist anybody's arm to play for real money. You can play as long as you like for free with no obligation. The real-money games are available if that's your preference, but if not, you can play the free practice games for as long as you like without hassle.

Reason #3 why the Wizard likes Bovada: Excellent Odds

In my opinion many online casinos are too stingy when setting the odds on their games. They think they will make more money that way but I believe they are misguided, because when players lose too quickly it's not fun, and those players might not come back.

Bovada is one of the few casinos that understands this. They offer generous odds to let you play longer and get you a better chance of winning. Among their generous offerings are Full-Pay Jacks or Better returning 99.54%, five other video poker games paying over 99%, single-zero roulette, and my favorite, Double Jackpot Poker, returning 99.63%!

Kudos to Bovada for not being afraid to give their players a good gamble.

Reason #4 why the Wizard likes Bovada:One-Stop Shopping

Bovada offers the triple crown of gambling: casino, poker, and sports. Many other casinos have tacked on poker as an afterthought, and many poker rooms have tacked on a casino as an afterthought, and the lack of attention shows, sometimes painfully. And very few of these sites let you make sports wagers.

But Bovada doesn't just offer all three, they do each one well, and everything's integrated. It's easy to play all three off one deposit, off just one account.

Another nice thing about Bovada is that you don't need a separate account to play casino games with fake money. In fact you do not even need an account for that at all, you can just click over there and play. Finally, Bovada usernames are only six or seven characters long making them possible to remember. By contrast some competitors' usernames are extremely long and cumbersome.

Wizard Endorsement Status

Bovada earns an endorsement from this site for their integrity and customer support. We only endorse the best Internet casinos we personally trust, and are proud to partner with Bovada.

As our promise to our readers, if you click though any ad on this site, which leads to you opening an account, then we will always be here to mediate in the unlikely event you ever have a problem. However, we're very confident you won't ever have the need to ask. Again, this offer of support applies if, and only if, you click through a banner on this site.

Visit Bovada >